Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

New radio dream +15MB EXTRA RAM! for HTC DREAM


  • Please log in to reply
163 replies to this topic

Poll: which radio is best? (150 member(s) have cast votes)

which radio is best?

  1. 2.22.28.25 (49 votes [32.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 32.67%

  2. 2.22.27.08 (13 votes [8.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 8.67%

  3. I don't know (88 votes [58.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 58.67%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 yihan

yihan
  • Members
  • 259 posts
  • Country:
    be - Belgium
  • Device Model:
    G1
  • CM Version:
    CM 6 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 06 November 2010 - 09:34 PM

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=831139

Must be adapted to the new nightlies! :-)(without customMTD or spoofspl).

Works great with nightlies (with customMTD)! (if it doesn't work wipe)
echo "spl 1.33.2005" >> /sdcard/mtdpartmap.txtor just edit the file content to
1.33.2005

Now menu's fly (animations off offcourse) like they never did, It's nearly as fast as the nexus one :-)
Great old phone, thanks ezterry!

Edited by yihan, 17 November 2010 - 08:32 PM.


#2 snypez

snypez
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Detroit, MI
  • Device Model:
    Samsung Captivate
  • CM Version:
    7.1.0 Stable
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 06 November 2010 - 09:43 PM

View Postyihan, on 06 November 2010 - 09:34 PM, said:

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=831139

Must be adapted to the new nightlies! :-)

Somebody with a jtaged phone should give it a rip. Anybody wanna be a guinea pig?

#3 ezterry

ezterry
  • Members
  • 179 posts
  • Twitter:xdaterry
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Asheville, NC
  • Device Model:
    GNexus/Nexus7
  • CM Version:
    on what phone?
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 06 November 2010 - 09:45 PM

View Postsnypez, on 06 November 2010 - 09:43 PM, said:

Somebody with a jtaged phone should give it a rip. Anybody wanna be a guinea pig?
The person with a JTAGed phone developed it

(Anyway my kernels work fine in CM6, so for now just use it.. with some more reported success I can make a build of the CM kernel or pershoot if anyone wants)

Edited by ezterry, 07 November 2010 - 12:02 AM.


#4 Script0

Script0
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Country:
    de - Germany
  • Device Model:
    Google G1
  • CM Version:
    6.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 06 November 2010 - 10:41 PM

can i flash that radio on my google g1, running cm 6.1, or won't it work

#5 3mp0w3r

3mp0w3r
  • Members
  • 1120 posts
  • Country:
    ie - Ireland
  • Location:
    Ireland
  • Device Model:
    HTC Dream
  • CM Version:
    CM D-S nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 06 November 2010 - 11:55 PM

View PostScript0, on 06 November 2010 - 10:41 PM, said:

can i flash that radio on my google g1, running cm 6.1, or won't it work

If you have read the instructions, you know the answer.

If you have not read them, you shouldn't be asking..  :P

#6 g1_froyo

g1_froyo
  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Country:
    pl - Poland
  • Device Model:
    HTC Dream / ERA G1
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.1 stable
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 07 November 2010 - 01:17 AM

@ezettry - Hello man ,good job but I want to know if only new kernel without new radio and SPL works as I usually ? I found kerenel from 24/10 very good and from 31/10 not as good so if new kerenl will be connected with old radio and SPL  will it work ?

#7 yihan

yihan
  • Members
  • 259 posts
  • Country:
    be - Belgium
  • Device Model:
    G1
  • CM Version:
    CM 6 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 07 November 2010 - 01:41 AM

When will the nightlies work/install with this new radio (customMTD didn't work with RA)?
edit: worked (wiped cache)

Edited by yihan, 07 November 2010 - 02:11 AM.


#8 ezterry

ezterry
  • Members
  • 179 posts
  • Twitter:xdaterry
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Asheville, NC
  • Device Model:
    GNexus/Nexus7
  • CM Version:
    on what phone?
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 07 November 2010 - 01:54 AM

View Postg1_froyo, on 07 November 2010 - 01:17 AM, said:

@ezettry - Hello man ,good job but I want to know if only new kernel without new radio and SPL works as I usually ? I found kerenel from 24/10 very good and from 31/10 not as good so if new kerenl will be connected with old radio and SPL  will it work ?
The "new" kernel is my 20101031 compiled with the memory offsets for the new radio+SPL, if you don't have the radio+SPL the system will not be set up correctly thus the memory won't exist in the right places, or the bootloader won't like the new kernel base address. thus it won't even boot.

So if you want the ram use the new SPL/Radio/2708 kernel port If you want to use other radios use the EBI0/EBI1 ports as usual.. If you want historic random builds ported.. I recommend starting to learn git and to see the port guide

View Postyihan, on 07 November 2010 - 01:41 AM, said:

When will the nightlies work/install with this new radio (customMTD didn't work with RA)?
I'd be shocked (given how many use my 20101031 kernel on the nightlies) if this kernel didn't work with them

Edited by ezterry, 07 November 2010 - 01:55 AM.


#9 g1_froyo

g1_froyo
  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Country:
    pl - Poland
  • Device Model:
    HTC Dream / ERA G1
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.1 stable
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 07 November 2010 - 02:26 AM

View Postezterry, on 07 November 2010 - 01:54 AM, said:

The "new" kernel is my 20101031 compiled with the memory offsets for the new radio+SPL, if you don't have the radio+SPL the system will not be set up correctly thus the memory won't exist in the right places, or the bootloader won't like the new kernel base address. thus it won't even boot.

So if you want the ram use the new SPL/Radio/2708 kernel port If you want to use other radios use the EBI0/EBI1 ports as usual.. If you want historic random builds ported.. I recommend starting to learn git and to see the port guide


Thanks for clear explanation , for a moment I'll stay at old kernels and radios , I'm satisfied with my Dream performance .

#10 shekki

shekki
  • Donators
  • 341 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
  • Device Model:
    HTC Glacier, HTC Ruby
  • CM Version:
    CM Nightlies
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 07 November 2010 - 02:37 AM

@Ezterry: I'm not sure if you have the answer to this but I'm wondering if the original mytouch Froyo OTA radio would work on a mytouch 3g 1.2 if a similar process was used?

#11 hapa

hapa
  • Members
  • 440 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Kaneohe, HI
  • Device Model:
    HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
  • CM Version:
    V7.1.0-RC1 (26 June 2011)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 07 November 2010 - 03:58 AM

When flashing new nightlies (after you have done this patch/update/whatever), is there anything else you need to flash?

Or can you just flash new nightlies over this and nothing else needed?

#12 ezterry

ezterry
  • Members
  • 179 posts
  • Twitter:xdaterry
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Asheville, NC
  • Device Model:
    GNexus/Nexus7
  • CM Version:
    on what phone?
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 07 November 2010 - 04:29 AM

View Postshekki, on 07 November 2010 - 02:37 AM, said:

@Ezterry: I'm not sure if you have the answer to this but I'm wondering if the original mytouch Froyo OTA radio would work on a mytouch 3g 1.2 if a similar process was used?
I am not sure what you are asking.. I think I heard the new radio works on the MT3G 1.2 as is. Its a different device with a different memory map, since the kernel is shared with the 32b devices I see the code for the other memory map; and its runtime detection but I've not looked very close.

View Posthapa, on 07 November 2010 - 03:58 AM, said:

When flashing new nightlies (after you have done this patch/update/whatever), is there anything else you need to flash?

Or can you just flash new nightlies over this and nothing else needed?

Unless Cyanogen Mod starts a separate build with the new kernel, you will need to flash a port file over it with a kernel intended for the new memory map.  (This is what 32A [on the 3.22 radios] magic users have done for a long time)

Edited by ezterry, 07 November 2010 - 04:32 AM.


#13 hapa

hapa
  • Members
  • 440 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Kaneohe, HI
  • Device Model:
    HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
  • CM Version:
    V7.1.0-RC1 (26 June 2011)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 07 November 2010 - 04:56 AM

View Postezterry, on 07 November 2010 - 04:29 AM, said:


Unless Cyanogen Mod starts a separate build with the new kernel, you will need to flash a port file over it with a kernel intended for the new memory map.  (This is what 32A [on the 3.22 radios] magic users have done for a long time)

and that port file is basically what is being used when flashing this? so flash the port file just like the nightly (as you would with pershoot's or dumfuq's)

#14 ZionI

ZionI
  • Members
  • 93 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Mytouch 3g v1.2 (32a)
  • CM Version:
    Latest nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 07 November 2010 - 04:58 AM

View Postshekki, on 07 November 2010 - 02:37 AM, said:

@Ezterry: I'm not sure if you have the answer to this but I'm wondering if the original mytouch Froyo OTA radio would work on a mytouch 3g 1.2 if a similar process was used?
It works on my v1.2 on stock spl.

#15 hapa

hapa
  • Members
  • 440 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Kaneohe, HI
  • Device Model:
    HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
  • CM Version:
    V7.1.0-RC1 (26 June 2011)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 07 November 2010 - 06:44 AM

View Postemp0wer, on 06 November 2010 - 11:55 PM, said:

If you have read the instructions, you know the answer.

If you have not read them, you shouldn't be asking..  :P

are you using it already?

#16 shekki

shekki
  • Donators
  • 341 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
  • Device Model:
    HTC Glacier, HTC Ruby
  • CM Version:
    CM Nightlies
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 07 November 2010 - 07:01 AM

View Postezterry, on 07 November 2010 - 04:29 AM, said:

I am not sure what you are asking.. I think I heard the new radio works on the MT3G 1.2 as is. Its a different device with a different memory map, since the kernel is shared with the 32b devices I see the code for the other memory map; and its runtime detection but I've not looked very close.



Unless Cyanogen Mod starts a separate build with the new kernel, you will need to flash a port file over it with a kernel intended for the new memory map.  (This is what 32A [on the 3.22 radios] magic users have done for a long time)
Basically I was asking if the radio would work on mytouch 3g 1.2 as is or if there was a roundabout process that had to be done in order to get it working with a CM ROM.

View PostZionI, on 07 November 2010 - 04:58 AM, said:

It works on my v1.2 on stock spl.
Really? Did you just flash the radio or did you flash the whole ROM?

#17 Script0

Script0
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Country:
    de - Germany
  • Device Model:
    Google G1
  • CM Version:
    6.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 07 November 2010 - 09:55 AM

View Postemp0wer, on 06 November 2010 - 11:55 PM, said:

If you have read the instructions, you know the answer.

If you have not read them, you shouldn't be asking..  :P
sorry, im from germany and i just understand the half of the instructions and besides idk about that kernel stuff :3

#18 inportb

inportb
  • Members
  • 148 posts
  • Twitter:inportb
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Dream
  • CM Version:
    Ha! No longer using CM. Ginger Yoshi FTW.
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 07 November 2010 - 01:43 PM

Hm... this definitely needs work before it could be accepted as default. You'd notice that there are certain problems with the new images...

#19 3mp0w3r

3mp0w3r
  • Members
  • 1120 posts
  • Country:
    ie - Ireland
  • Location:
    Ireland
  • Device Model:
    HTC Dream
  • CM Version:
    CM D-S nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 07 November 2010 - 03:44 PM

View PostScript0, on 07 November 2010 - 09:55 AM, said:

sorry, im from germany and i just understand the half of the instructions and besides idk about that kernel stuff :3

Ah sorry, i didn't realise, your country flag is blank. The point i was making, is that you should be very sure what you are doing.

The kernel is the core of the operating system, which can be changed, by flashing a new one over the installed one.  :)

#20 3mp0w3r

3mp0w3r
  • Members
  • 1120 posts
  • Country:
    ie - Ireland
  • Location:
    Ireland
  • Device Model:
    HTC Dream
  • CM Version:
    CM D-S nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 07 November 2010 - 03:47 PM

View Posthapa, on 07 November 2010 - 06:44 AM, said:

are you using it already?

Nope, i can't do it yet, i have no usb/fastboot  :(

I have to figure analternative way of doing it ..........