Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

[Tuto][Neo/neo V] How To Install Cyanogenmod 10


  • Please log in to reply
132 replies to this topic

#1 dugzino

dugzino
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Twitter:dugzino
  • Country:
    al - Albania
  • Location:
    Prishtina, Kosova
  • Device Model:
    Mako
  • CM Version:
    CM10.1
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 19 December 2012 - 12:32 PM

Hello! I'm back to put up another tutorial on how to flash a ROM (+ Kernel)!
For those who have no idea which Android version is running on CM10, well, it's the Android version 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean)!

First of all
I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards, thermonuclear war or getting fired because the alarm app failed.
Please, do some research if you have any concerns about features included in this ROM before flashing it!
YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you.

Here we go!

REQUIREMENTS!
* The device's bootloader has to be unlocked! / SE Official Unlocking site
* The device has to be on the Android version 4 (at least) if not, flash latest SEMC ICS ROM for your device first!
* Download the latest FlashTool version HERE then into the "Installation" tab (Thanks to Bin4ry and Androxyde from the XDA Forums for this tool)
* Download Google Apps HERE (No, the most recent versions aren't going to work with the 4.1.2 version)

From now, it depends either you wanna try-out nightlies (which most of times are stable) or the stable releases!
Just to be clear, Nightlies are randomly updated and stable releases are weekly updates.
* For Nightly go Neo (hallon - MT15i) or Neo V (haida - MT11i) (Be sure to take the CM10 versions!)
* For Stable go HERE (Don't forget hallon = Neo / haida = Neo V)
Please, don't mirror those links!
Then, put the downloaded ROM.zip & gapps.zip in your SD card.

Now that you have gone through the requirements, let's start the installation! (Goes same for both devices, Neo & Neo V)

INSTALLATION!
Kernel flashing (don't get fooled by the number of steps, I tried to be as clear as possible)
  • Open (not extract) the zipped ROM
  • Copy boot.img from it and paste it wherever you want (let's say desktop)
  • Shut down your device
  • Plug the USB WHILE pressing the Menu button on your device (notification LED will light blue)
  • Start FlashTool.exe (or FlashTool64.exe, depends on your installed OS)
  • Click on the button with the thunder
  • Select "fastboot mode"
  • Select "Select kernel to Flash" (2nd button on 3rd column) it will open a folder window
  • Find the kernel (which is supposed to be on the desktop except if you extracted it elsewhere)
  • Once main FlashTool says it's done, it means "we're done with kernel flashing!" (you can unplug your device and proceed to ROM flashing)
ROM flashing (don't get fooled by the number of steps, I tried to be as clear as possible)
  • Boot your device and wait for the notification LED to turn pink and press several times (to be sure) volume down button
  • Once in CWM (Recovery mod) click on "wipe data/factory reset" and confirm it
  • Click on "wipe cache partition" and confirm it
  • Go in "mounts and storage" and click on "format /system" and confirm it
  • Go in "advanced" and click on "wipe dalvik cache" and confirm it
  • Go in "install zip from sdcard" then "choose zip from sdcard" and select the downloaded ROM.zip and wait the install to finish
  • Go in "install zip from sdcard" then "choose zip from sdcard" and select gapps-jb-20121011-signed.zip and wait the install to finish
  • Click on "reboot system now"
VoilĂ ! Proceed through the first boot stuffs and there you are, running on a beautiful CMized Jelly Bean ROM!
Now, to update your phone with a latest CM10 release, you'll have to go through the whole kernel flashing again and then follow these steps bellow

ROM updating (If a kernel is provided, you always have to reflash it except if you know what you're doing)
  • Boot your device and wait for the notification LED to turn pink and press several times (to be sure) volume down button
  • Click on "wipe cache partition" and confirm it
  • Go in "advanced" and click on "wipe dalvik cache" and confirm it
  • Go in "install zip from sdcard" then "choose zip from sdcard" and select the downloaded ROM.zip and wait the install to finish
  • Click on "reboot system now"
That's it! Easy, right?

PS: If you didn't understand something, feel free to ask it up here.
And BTW if you don't know "what's" FXP, FXP is the dev team building CM on most of Sony devices.
They're doing this on their free time and for free! So, if you want to help/encourage them for their awesome work, feel free to donate HERE.
No worry, it's their real paypall account you can check it HERE under their avatar and profile info.

So, all the credits for this awesome ROM goes to:
FXP (for building it CM ROMs on Sony devices)
CM (for their CM sources)
Sony (for helping FXP with devices hardware sources)
Donators (for helping/encouraging FXP doing such a great work!)

For known installation issues, I'll try to update this post with "HOW TO" 's!

## HOW TO fix the [Status 7] error when trying to flash the ROM?!

Quote

An error which tend to happen to a very few people.
Here's a fix to it:

Go in the CM10ROM.zip (which ever version of CM10 you downloaded) in this folder META-INF\com\google\android and open updater-script
and just delete those 3 lines (which are the first ones)
assert(getprop("ro.product.device") == "MT15i" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "MT15i" ||
		 getprop("ro.product.device") == "MT15a" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "MT15a" ||
		 getprop("ro.product.device") == "hallon" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "hallon");


## HOW TO set button backlights back to stock?

Quote

Here's a way to disable/dim it:

First of all, you'll need a good explorer app like "Root Explorer" or "ES File Explorer". (If you're using ES File Explorer, you'll need to go into the settings/Root settings/check "Root Explorer", "Up to Root" and "Mount File System")
Then, you'll have to go to this folder (starting from root folder) "/etc/".

Open hw_config.sh and copy/paste this to the bottom
echo 900 > $dev/button-backlight/max_current #Max current in uA

If you want to dim the light even more, you just have to decrease the number.

Edited by dugzino, 25 March 2013 - 08:55 AM.


#2 varunvaze

varunvaze
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Country:
    in - India
  • Device Model:
    Xperia Neo V
  • CM Version:
    CM9
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 19 December 2012 - 09:32 PM

Android Keyboard(AOSP) stopped unfortunately...
No keyboard for cm10-20121219-nightly-haida.zip

#3 dugzino

dugzino
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Twitter:dugzino
  • Country:
    al - Albania
  • Location:
    Prishtina, Kosova
  • Device Model:
    Mako
  • CM Version:
    CM10.1
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 20 December 2012 - 03:18 PM

View Postvarunvaze, on 19 December 2012 - 09:32 PM, said:

Android Keyboard(AOSP) stopped unfortunately...
No keyboard for cm10-20121219-nightly-haida.zip

Last Nightly I installed is 20121217 with which I had no bug this far, I'd recommend this version or the stable FXP151.

#4 cool2998

cool2998
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Country:
    in - India
  • Device Model:
    mt11i
  • CM Version:
    FXP151-cm-10-20121214-UNOFFICIAL-haida
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 31 December 2012 - 04:38 PM

Thanks dugzino!! Yes the instructions were easy :). I installed CM10 - FXP 151 after installing cm-9.1.0-haida a week before and I must say that CM 10 is way better.

Thanks again for the instructions!

#5 MianAliHumayun

MianAliHumayun
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Twitter:@MianAliHumayun
  • Country:
    pk - Pakistan
  • Device Model:
    MT15i (Xperia Neo)
  • CM Version:
    cm-9.1.0-hallon
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 January 2013 - 08:01 PM

I tried to flash in CM10 from my CM9.1.0, i did that simply by downloading the CM10 ROM, putting it to the root of the SD card, going into CWM and flashing it in. It did not work, as i now realize i have to flash in a new Kernal (the boot.img file of CM10). Having said all that i want to ask 2 questions:

1) When upgrading form CM9.1.0 to CM10, is the step of ("mounts and storage" and click on "format /system") necessary? i.e. must i wipe out my memory card?
also

2) later when i will (hopefully) have CM10, will i need to flash the kernel in everytime i want to update? meaning the boot.img file FOR every updated CM10?

#6 dugzino

dugzino
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Twitter:dugzino
  • Country:
    al - Albania
  • Location:
    Prishtina, Kosova
  • Device Model:
    Mako
  • CM Version:
    CM10.1
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 01 January 2013 - 08:56 PM

View PostMianAliHumayun, on 01 January 2013 - 08:01 PM, said:

I tried to flash in CM10 from my CM9.1.0, i did that simply by downloading the CM10 ROM, putting it to the root of the SD card, going into CWM and flashing it in. It did not work, as i now realize i have to flash in a new Kernal (the boot.img file of CM10). Having said all that i want to ask 2 questions:

1) When upgrading form CM9.1.0 to CM10, is the step of ("mounts and storage" and click on "format /system") necessary? i.e. must i wipe out my memory card?
also

2) later when i will (hopefully) have CM10, will i need to flash the kernel in everytime i want to update? meaning the boot.img file FOR every updated CM10?

No, no need to format /system when you come to CM10 from CM9. Forgot to mention.
Coming from CM9 is like upgrading between 2 CM10 versions.
In anyway, even formating the system, wont harm the device, so nothing to worry about.

If you format and then try to flash (there's a very few chances of this happening) and get the [Status 7] error, just go in the ROM.zip in this folder META-INF\com\google\android and open updater-script
and just delete those 3 lines (which are the first ones)
assert(getprop("ro.product.device") == "MT15i" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "MT15i" ||
	   getprop("ro.product.device") == "MT15a" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "MT15a" ||
	   getprop("ro.product.device") == "hallon" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "hallon");

But like I said, not obligated to go through format /system :)

#7 MianAliHumayun

MianAliHumayun
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Twitter:@MianAliHumayun
  • Country:
    pk - Pakistan
  • Device Model:
    MT15i (Xperia Neo)
  • CM Version:
    cm-9.1.0-hallon
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 January 2013 - 11:04 PM

*phew* thankyou for clearing that!
i use titanium backup and all, but still not a fan of formatting the SD card lol

so, just to clarify, the only thing I was doing wrong while updating from CN9.1.0 to CM10 was that i didn't flash in the correct Kernal in? - ie the boot.img file in side the CM10 zip folder? correct?

#8 dugzino

dugzino
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Twitter:dugzino
  • Country:
    al - Albania
  • Location:
    Prishtina, Kosova
  • Device Model:
    Mako
  • CM Version:
    CM10.1
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 02 January 2013 - 03:27 AM

View PostMianAliHumayun, on 01 January 2013 - 11:04 PM, said:

*phew* thankyou for clearing that!
i use titanium backup and all, but still not a fan of formatting the SD card lol

so, just to clarify, the only thing I was doing wrong while updating from CN9.1.0 to CM10 was that i didn't flash in the correct Kernal in? - ie the boot.img file in side the CM10 zip folder? correct?

Yeah sorry, forgot to answer your issue xD my bad, was pretty messed up when I posted.
K, so, yeah kernel from the zip has always to be flashed in order to make things work.
So yeah, if you had flashed kernel (even after flashing the ROM) it would've worked. :)

By the way, you never have to format SDCard, I never mentioned formating it.

#9 MianAliHumayun

MianAliHumayun
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Twitter:@MianAliHumayun
  • Country:
    pk - Pakistan
  • Device Model:
    MT15i (Xperia Neo)
  • CM Version:
    cm-9.1.0-hallon
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 02 January 2013 - 06:52 AM

oh naa that's quite alright =P

i only asked about the sd card formatting cause the step where the user is asked to go to mounts and storage, and do format/system, doesn't that format the sd card?

and so just to be clear, even when updating from one CM10 nightly to another CM10, I'll have to flash the kernal in every time right?

(I'm very inquisitive, i know lol but i want to be crystal clear and your feedback it extremely helpfull =D )

#10 Ugenious

Ugenious
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Twitter:alexinfotech
  • Country:
    gr - Greece
  • Location:
    Athens, Greece
  • Device Model:
    Xperia Neo V
  • CM Version:
    CM-10
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 08 January 2013 - 07:06 PM

Hi! I recently had my son Alex put the CM 10-20130107-NIGHTLY-haida on my Xperia Neo V
and am tickle pink of how fast and slick my mobile is now working. It is almost as if I bought a
new phone with a cpu twice as powerful. You people have done an awesome job and have
just made another Cyanogen fan! :rolleyes:

I have a question which I hope that I am making in the right place. Every time I touch the screen
the lights open up full blast under the three quick keys on the bottom (back-home-menu) which
of course go off after a few seconds. I could not find a way to disable this feature or reduce the
turn-off time. I assume that it is wasting battery power and would like to know if anyone has a
solution or if  a solution can be added to the next NIGHTLY update.

Thank you so much :)

Edited by Ugenious, 08 January 2013 - 07:19 PM.


#11 kovacslaszlo13

kovacslaszlo13
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Twitter:lesliesmith98
  • Country:
    hu - Hungary
  • Location:
    Borsosberény
  • Device Model:
    SK17i
  • CM Version:
    CM10 NIGHTLY
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 08 January 2013 - 07:29 PM

Thanks bro! :)


#12 dugzino

dugzino
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Twitter:dugzino
  • Country:
    al - Albania
  • Location:
    Prishtina, Kosova
  • Device Model:
    Mako
  • CM Version:
    CM10.1
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 08 January 2013 - 10:45 PM

View PostUgenious, on 08 January 2013 - 07:06 PM, said:

Hi! I recently had my son Alex put the CM 10-20130107-NIGHTLY-haida on my Xperia Neo V
and am tickle pink of how fast and slick my mobile is now working. It is almost as if I bought a
new phone with a cpu twice as powerful. You people have done an awesome job and have
just made another Cyanogen fan! :rolleyes:

I have a question which I hope that I am making in the right place. Every time I touch the screen
the lights open up full blast under the three quick keys on the bottom (back-home-menu) which
of course go off after a few seconds. I could not find a way to disable this feature or reduce the
turn-off time. I assume that it is wasting battery power and would like to know if anyone has a
solution or if  a solution can be added to the next NIGHTLY update.

Thank you so much :)

Okay for those button backlight I have 2 options for you. Either dim them or disable them.
Both of these options require you to modify a file which is the root folder of your device.
/etc/hw_config.sh

To disable it, you open hw_config.sh and copy/paste this to the bottom
echo 900 > $dev/button-backlight/max_current #Max current in uA

To dim it, you open hw_config.sh and copy/paste this to the bottom
echo 250 > $dev/button-backlight/max_current #Max current in uA

After doing this, reboot and check if it worked. :)
Reply in this thread if it did or not.

Edited by dugzino, 08 January 2013 - 10:50 PM.


#13 Ugenious

Ugenious
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Twitter:alexinfotech
  • Country:
    gr - Greece
  • Location:
    Athens, Greece
  • Device Model:
    Xperia Neo V
  • CM Version:
    CM-10
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:39 AM

View Postdugzino, on 08 January 2013 - 10:45 PM, said:

Okay for those button backlight I have 2 options for you. Either dim them or disable them.
Both of these options require you to modify a file which is the root folder of your device.
/etc/hw_config.sh

To disable it, you open hw_config.sh and copy/paste this to the bottom
echo 900 > $dev/button-backlight/max_current #Max current in uA

To dim it, you open hw_config.sh and copy/paste this to the bottom
echo 250 > $dev/button-backlight/max_current #Max current in uA

After doing this, reboot and check if it worked. :)
Reply in this thread if it did or not.

I am using Root Browser Lite to edit the file
I edited the file and saved it
but although it says it is saving it
the file remains the same :(

I assume that even though I have root access I do not have permission to change any files.
Superuser v3.1.4 says that Root Browser Lite has Status: Allowed and in the activity log it shows many entries saying "Allowed" but the file still has not changed after I edited it.

Edited by Ugenious, 09 January 2013 - 01:27 AM.


#14 dugzino

dugzino
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Twitter:dugzino
  • Country:
    al - Albania
  • Location:
    Prishtina, Kosova
  • Device Model:
    Mako
  • CM Version:
    CM10.1
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:31 AM

View PostUgenious, on 09 January 2013 - 12:39 AM, said:

I am using Root Browser Lite to edit the file
I edited the file and saved it
but although it says it is saving it
the file remains the same :(

I assume that even though I have root access I do not have permission to change any files.
Superuser v3.1.4 says that Root Browser Lite has Status: Allowed and in the activity log it shows many entries saying "Allowed" but the file still has not changed after I edited it.

When you're in etc folder, do you have anywhere a button to change permission of the folder? Like "R/W" or "Mount R/W"?
Never tried that app. I'm using Root Explorer when I need to change system files.

#15 Ugenious

Ugenious
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Twitter:alexinfotech
  • Country:
    gr - Greece
  • Location:
    Athens, Greece
  • Device Model:
    Xperia Neo V
  • CM Version:
    CM-10
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:51 PM

View Postdugzino, on 09 January 2013 - 08:31 AM, said:

When you're in etc folder, do you have anywhere a button to change permission of the folder? Like "R/W" or "Mount R/W"?
Never tried that app. I'm using Root Explorer when I need to change system files.

okay.. I used ES File Explorer and gave ES root access :)

yesssssssssss!!! it works!!! :D

the disable command returns the lights to the brightness of Sony Ericsson's default settings.
the dim command dims the lights so that you can barely see them in the dark.
I used the second command.. its just perfect now.

Thank you so much dugzino for your solution! Greatly appreciate your help! :rolleyes:

Edited by Ugenious, 10 January 2013 - 02:53 PM.


#16 mkm8595

mkm8595
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Country:
    in - India
  • Device Model:
    MT11i
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 10
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 18 January 2013 - 04:10 PM

Hi! @dugzino ...!
I'm completely new to these. So please help me. I'm using the official sony ics 4.0.4 in my phone. You've mentioned this: "mounts and storage" and click on "format /system". Is it necessary to format sd card?

#17 dugzino

dugzino
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Twitter:dugzino
  • Country:
    al - Albania
  • Location:
    Prishtina, Kosova
  • Device Model:
    Mako
  • CM Version:
    CM10.1
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:33 PM

View Postmkm8595, on 18 January 2013 - 04:10 PM, said:

Hi! @dugzino ...!
I'm completely new to these. So please help me. I'm using the official sony ics 4.0.4 in my phone. You've mentioned this: "mounts and storage" and click on "format /system". Is it necessary to format sd card?

I won't repeat myself, I never talked about formatting the SD Card.
Next one to ask me that, I'll simply ignore him/her..

#18 mkm8595

mkm8595
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Country:
    in - India
  • Device Model:
    MT11i
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 10
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 19 January 2013 - 07:45 AM

Oh, sorry! I'm a newbie. And another thing...
I can't control the resolution of video recording. Its not recording in HD quality. What can i do to rectify this ?

#19 Ugenious

Ugenious
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Twitter:alexinfotech
  • Country:
    gr - Greece
  • Location:
    Athens, Greece
  • Device Model:
    Xperia Neo V
  • CM Version:
    CM-10
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 19 January 2013 - 08:44 AM

You are using the official Sony ICS 4.0.4. so you are in the wrong forum.
Please go to Sony Ericsson's site to find your answer about HD quality. :P

Edited by Ugenious, 19 January 2013 - 10:25 AM.


#20 dugzino

dugzino
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Twitter:dugzino
  • Country:
    al - Albania
  • Location:
    Prishtina, Kosova
  • Device Model:
    Mako
  • CM Version:
    CM10.1
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 19 January 2013 - 10:12 AM

View Postmkm8595, on 19 January 2013 - 07:45 AM, said:

Oh, sorry! I'm a newbie. And another thing...
I can't control the resolution of video recording. Its not recording in HD quality. What can i do to rectify this ?

HD record has been removed to free more RAM.
FXP developers made a poll asking whether it was keeping HD record (which was @ 16FPS) or take it off and have a bit smoother Jelly Bean experience.
Recording in 16FPS, renders a video worthless.
People voted for smoother experience. If HD recording was precious for you, I'd suggest you to go back to CM9.

EDIT

HD recording might come back way later if, FXP manages to create a working 3.4 kernel which, will even make Butter Project work.

Edited by dugzino, 19 January 2013 - 10:15 AM.