Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Installing Updated Voice Search


  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 Tsenru

Tsenru
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Utah
  • Device Model:
    G2
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 7
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 06:14 PM

Alright, I updated this with instructions on how to fix the Google Search widget as well.  Big thanks to klinster, devlogic, OhioDroid and Absolute Zero.

Hey everybody, I don't know if anybody else is having this issue, but the new version of Google's Voice Search released today wouldn't install on my G1 (running CM6RC2) due to an incorrect signature.  Anyway, there's a quick workaround, you just have to uninstall the voice search installed by default in CM6.

EDIT: Besides the steps below, you can alternately try flashing the newest GApps.zip (FRF91-3UP), which includes both Google's latest Voice Search and Google Search Widget.
Remember to do a NAND backup first, and flashing *will* remove some data, but it's your choice which you do.  Here's Absolute Zero's link to the file: gappsFRF91-3UP.  This should also fix any bugs you've been having with permissions or failed uninstalls.

If you'd rather take the longer, but less destructive route:

If you have adb, plug into usb and run:

adb pull /system/app/ ~/Desktop/app/
adb remount
adb shell rm -f /system/app/VoiceSearch.apk
adb shell pm uninstall com.google.android.voicesearch
adb shell rm -f /system/app/GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk
adb shell pm uninstall com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox

If you don't, open Terminal Emulator on your phone (This does NOT backup the .apk's, so proceed at your own risk!) and run:

su
mount -o rw,remount /system
rm -f /system/app/VoiceSearch.apk
pm uninstall com.google.android.voicesearch
rm -f /system/app/GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk
pm uninstall com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox

Your old out of date versions are now removed.  Now go to the Market and install "Voice Search" and "Google Search".
QR Codes:

Voice Search
Posted Image

Google Search
Posted Image

Anyway, this is all pulled from the Cyanogenmod Wiki and most have you probably have already figured this out.  In case you were stuck though, hopefully this helped you resolve the problem.

What's working:
Google Search Box (Reply if you have problems with listed method)
Most Voice Actions

What isn't:
"set alarm" action seems to rely on an as-of-yet unreleased Clock app from google.  I am unable to confirm this as I do not have access to a stock Nexus One.

EDIT:

-Thanks to klinster for backup line for adb
-Thanks to devlogic and OhioDroid for search widget fix
-Added Google Mobile Blog's QR codes for up to date packages
-Thanks to BinaryMan, fixed typo in adb commands
-Thanks to Synchromatic, fixed typo in Terminal commands
-Thanks to Absolute Zero, added updated gapps method.

Edited by Tsenru, 13 August 2010 - 07:27 PM.


#2 klinster

klinster
  • Donators
  • 35 posts
  • Twitter:klinster
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    /system
  • Device Model:
    Nexus One
  • CM Version:
    N1 CM7 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 06:39 PM

Before that I would recommend backing up the app that you're going to uninstall in case something goes wrong.

It'll look like this:

adb pull /system/app/VoiceSearch.apk ~/Desktop/app/


#3 Tsenru

Tsenru
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Utah
  • Device Model:
    G2
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 7
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:07 PM

Alright, so I just tried using the new Voice Actions.  Looks like all the ones listed under "Help" are functioning fine, but the "set alarm" command says it needs the latest version of the clock app to work (however, an attempt to find it on the market failed, if anybody can point me to an .apk that'd be great)

I'm not sure why the "set alarm" Action isn't listed in the app, as it's in Google's Actions introduction video.  It looks like this is an extendable framework, though, so maybe they intentionally aren't listing everything.  Any other commands people have found?

#4 devlogic

devlogic
  • Members
  • 39 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    6.1 w/ 2708 radio
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:15 PM

Very similar steps are necessary for the new Google Search widget. The file is /system/app/GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk, the package name is com.android.google.googlequicksearchbox

#5 inthewoods

inthewoods
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:16 PM

[edit]^^^ trying that now...

I got voice search to install but the google search update failed.

Edited by inthewoods, 12 August 2010 - 07:18 PM.


#6 OhioDroid

OhioDroid
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    SW Ohio
  • Device Model:
    G2
  • CM Version:
    CM7, custom build by Gridlock
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:19 PM

This didn't seem to work for me.  Does there need to be a reboot after removing using the phones terminal?

View Postdevlogic, on 12 August 2010 - 07:15 PM, said:

Very similar steps are necessary for the new Google Search widget. The file is /system/app/GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk, the package name is com.android.google.googlequicksearchbox

Similar steps are needed to remove? Please be a little more clear.

#7 devlogic

devlogic
  • Members
  • 39 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    6.1 w/ 2708 radio
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:23 PM

I suspect Google may be planning a new version of the clock app (re: #3). The link from the help page goes to a market search for com.google.android.deskclock, but the package on my current (CM6 nightly) install is named com.android.deskclock

No way to guess at a timeframe, but since it's already in the documentation video and help site, I suspect it'll be out sooner, rather than later.

View PostOhioDroid, on 12 August 2010 - 07:19 PM, said:

This didn't seem to work for me.  Does there need to be a reboot after removing using the phones terminal?



Similar steps are needed to remove? Please be a little more clear.

Use these steps (from the OP)
adb pull /system/app/VoiceSearch.apk ~/Desktop/app/
adb shell remount
adb shell rm -f /system/app/VoiceSearch.apk
adb shell pm uninstall com.google.android.voicesearch

But instead of VoiceSearch.apk and com.google.android.voicesearch, use GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk and com.android.google.googlequicksearchbox (respectively)

I didn't need to reboot after doing either of these jump-through-hoops installs, so you probably won't need to, either.

#8 Tsenru

Tsenru
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Utah
  • Device Model:
    G2
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 7
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:23 PM

Yes, similar steps, but be careful doing it from the phone's terminal, I'm not sure if you can back it up in case of problems.

Just a sec, I'll run through and see if everything's working from phone terminal.

Also, the Google Search Widget is working fine here, are you using the gapps v2 or v3?

#9 inthewoods

inthewoods
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:29 PM

I'm getting a "Failure" for the quick search box via the terminal (tried twice)...

#10 OhioDroid

OhioDroid
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    SW Ohio
  • Device Model:
    G2
  • CM Version:
    CM7, custom build by Gridlock
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:32 PM

com.android.google.googlequicksearchbox

switch the google and android, I had to do that.

View Postdevlogic, on 12 August 2010 - 07:23 PM, said:

I suspect Google may be planning a new version of the clock app (re: #3). The link from the help page goes to a market search for com.google.android.deskclock, but the package on my current (CM6 nightly) install is named com.android.deskclock

No way to guess at a timeframe, but since it's already in the documentation video and help site, I suspect it'll be out sooner, rather than later.



Use these steps (from the OP)
adb pull /system/app/VoiceSearch.apk ~/Desktop/app/
adb shell remount
adb shell rm -f /system/app/VoiceSearch.apk
adb shell pm uninstall com.google.android.voicesearch

But instead of VoiceSearch.apk and com.google.android.voicesearch, use GoogleQuickSearchBox.apk and com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox (respectively)

I didn't need to reboot after doing either of these jump-through-hoops installs, so you probably won't need to, either.

That worked, thank you very much sir! Appreciate the quick responses

#11 inthewoods

inthewoods
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:34 PM

Voice search is cool... do a long hold on the search key

#12 GinoA

GinoA
  • Members
  • 328 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    G2/Vision
  • CM Version:
    CM 7 (recent nightly)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:37 PM

View PostTsenru, on 12 August 2010 - 07:23 PM, said:

Yes, similar steps, but be careful doing it from the phone's terminal, I'm not sure if you can back it up in case of problems.

You can easily copy the old APK to the SD card.  A few of us were hashing out some tools for doing this sort of thing here.

#13 inthewoods

inthewoods
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:45 PM

Yeah my quick search box is screwed... oh well I don't use it. I hope these updates get added to the "Google Addon" pack.  B)

#14 Tsenru

Tsenru
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Utah
  • Device Model:
    G2
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 7
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:52 PM

inthewoods: Try the updated removal instructions in the first post for the old widget and reinstall the "Google Search" app and see if that helps.

#15 BinaryMan

BinaryMan
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Twitter:BinaryMn
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Western NY
  • Device Model:
    |6|
  • CM Version:
    cm6_heroc_full
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 08:01 PM

The second adb command is incorrect. It should be "adb remount" not "adb shell remount"

#16 Tsenru

Tsenru
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Utah
  • Device Model:
    G2
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 7
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 08:09 PM

Thanks for the correction, fixed

#17 Synchromatic

Synchromatic

    Waka Waka Waka

  • Donators
  • 28 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    MyTouch 32B/T-Mobile G2
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.0 Stable
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 08:22 PM

The last command in the terminal emulator box shouldn't start with "adb shell".

#18 Tsenru

Tsenru
  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Utah
  • Device Model:
    G2
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 7
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 08:25 PM

Thanks, fixed that too.

#19 inthewoods

inthewoods
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 12 August 2010 - 08:42 PM

View PostTsenru, on 12 August 2010 - 07:52 PM, said:

inthewoods: Try the updated removal instructions in the first post for the old widget and reinstall the "Google Search" app and see if that helps.
Thanks, but it's all good. Voice search works great from the hard key.... I don't use the quick search box widget so I'm not really missing anything.

#20 hnsez

hnsez
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    G1
  • CM Version:
    6.0 Stable
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 August 2010 - 08:59 PM

thanks Tsenru and everyone who gave fixes, this worked great with the updated instructions via terminal, voice search and the widget are both working now